Bushido: Making Cobblestone Bases

Bushido: Making Cobblestone Bases

Here’s a step by step on how I made the bases for these brave Prefecture warriors.

First cover the gap in the bottom of the base with a thin slice of tape. Then smush a ball of green stuff down into the base. Lay more tape across it for the next step: texturing. Press it against a big broken chunk of concrete or some other rough surface to get all those little indentations in it. Without the tape the green stuff will stick to the concrete. Whatever object you use for texturing just make sure it’s not too rough or the indentations might be too deep.

I let them sit awhile to make sure they had fully cured. I had to peel the tape off very gently.  It stuck a little more to the green stuff than I thought it would, almost peeling the green stuff out of the bases. I figured once the green stuff had cured the tape wouldn’t adhere to it more than any other plastic surface but the two seemed to almost bond a bit. Don’t use tape for this step. Next time I’ll probably use plastic wrap. Whatever you use needs to be thin enough for the textureing to make it through.

This will probably be the hardest step for most people. The cracks between the stones were actually sliced out with a hobby knife. With the right sculpting tool you could press into the green stuff while it’s still curing to create the cracks. I think this method, while more time consuming, gives crisper edges and an overall better result.

The next step is to paint the whole thing in watered down white glue then dip it in fine sand. This is actually gf9 snow basing effect. I mistook it for some fine beach sand but it worked just fine.

Next take your finger and smear the excess away.

Once they’re all dry they should look about like this.

img_4550

Maybe when I do the next batch I’ll get more pics of the painting process. I use a lot of different colors when painting stone and these were no exception. There are dark reds, Greens and blues washed on to a Cadian Flesh (GW) basecoat, then drybrushed with Fenrisian Gray (GW) and Ryn Flesh (P3). In the end it’s definitely more striking than shades of gray, and I would argue, more natural looking as well.

~Hope there was some helpful info there! I’ll try to publish something again soon, but I’m super busy right now with Comissions leading up to Gencon.

Leave a comment