I made a Bushido Mat

I made a Bushido Mat

I was having a hard time finding a Bushido Mat I liked so I made my own.

img_2421

One of the perks of working at SJGames (other than just getting to work at SJGames) is that we can use the oversized printer for personal stuff. If you’ve ever visited our booth at a show this mat rolled off the same machine that makes all those giant Munchkin banners.

I sacrificed a week or so of painting time I would have spent on my Minimoto to make this thing in photoshop. I wanted it to have a cool graphic element that wouldn’t have a terrain effect (the road) and leave some open space for actual terrain (all the grass).

I added a few details like the lanterns and flowers to mark the placement of objectives. If you look at the stone in the corners you’ll see a right angle that marks the deployment zones for the three corner deployment scenarios. That does leave a few scenarios un-marked but it was already starting to look a little cluttered. The markers that are there will make it easy to place those.

img_2424

And hey it looks even cooler with models and terrain.

img_2423

Here’s a close-up. One of my favorite things about our printer is that the ink isn’t glossy. Of course that doesn’t explain why Shenziqui and Shuohuang are defending the likes of Okina and Oto. I mean I know you guys are Ronin and all that but there have to be better clients out there.

img_2422 And another close-up from a slightly different angle

~I’m super excited about trying my new mat. I hope my Minimoto will be ready to play on it by this weekend but that might be overly optimistic.

3 thoughts on “I made a Bushido Mat

Leave a comment