Bushido: Finished Ro-Kan Force

 Bushido: Finished Ro-Kan Force

It feels good finally seeing them all finished. Although seeing them on this rocky hillside only reinforces the fact that I need to make some dedicated Bushido terrain. 

You’ve already seen Ekusa. 

Here’s a look at his other side. 


Kenko was actually the first one I painted. It’s part of the reason why some of his shading on his skin is so dark. I was still trying to get a good feel for the flesh tone. It’s also why he’s the only one I gave any freehand to. It took a bit longer than I wanted to complete, so the rest of the force was a little more simple. 

Since he has kind of earth based powers, I tried to give him a nature-y feel. This is the reason for the plant pattern on his obi (or whatever they’re called on the Jwar Isles. I did try to give all the monks a glow on their hands and eyes to bring home the feel of supernatural powers. 

Strangely I feel like the freehand on the back looks better, even though I spent much less time on this side. That’s how it works a lot of the time. 

I decided to go with a completely different color scheme for Yumi. Her elemental powers are a bit nebulous with air and water based abilities. 

Blue was too obvious a color choice for her uniform so I went with kind of a sunset palette with yellow and orange fabric and pinkish purple glows. 

I went for more natural tones for the peasants. 

I assume he keeps his medical supplies in that box?


She’s supposed to be sporting a woven hat, but I loved her facial expression too much to cover it up. So grizzled… If she could talk I’m sure she’d tell you about how much tougher the oni were back in her day. 

The reverse isn’t as exciting. 

Riku is the first of the reinforcements I painted to bring the starter force up to 50 points. I didn’t  handle the glow quite as well as I would have liked. 

I do like how the column of water looks from the back though. 

Hotaru is my favorite sculpt of the batch after Ekusa himself. I gave her a dark blue uniform to create a nice contrast with the red/orange of the flames. I think this lead to her glows being a bit more successful than Riku’s, but they still could be a little better. 

The effect is more successful on the reverse. 

~ Hope you enjoyed the pictures. I’m probably going to be preoccupied with terrain for a bit but I do plan to put some new posts up here. 

One thought on “ Bushido: Finished Ro-Kan Force

Leave a comment