Bushido: Painting Aya Minimoto Part 2

Bushido: Painting Aya Minimoto Part 2

img_2617

Here’s where I left off last yesterday.

img_2618

A quick look at the back at the same stage. I had fun with the shiny helmet. I decided to go with basically two “light sources” for this spherical shape. Technically there should only be one in an outdoor setting: the sun. But this seems to look pretty natural. I think it has a lot to do with the fact that I kept one a little less intense than the other.

img_2619

The next step is to really finish up the metal details lining the crevices and adding thin lines of highlight to the edges of all the metal surfaces.  A thin tan (P3’s Hammerfall Khaki) line goes along the bottom of everything to represent light reflected up from the ground.

img_2621

Then I start on her sashes. To make these a nice subdued red, I start with a base of P3 Sanguine Highlight shading it with P3 Coal Black (which again is not a black at all but a dark greenish blue).

img_2622

I add more layers of Sanguine Highlight to clean up the shading then, start blending some highlights of Sulfuric Yellow in with the red.

img_2623

Here she is with the red all cleaned up. I realized I wanted the ribbon on her tetsubo to be red too.

img_2624

Since there’s so much brown on the model already, I decided to do the remaining leather on the boots and knife sheath as a blue-black. I start with the same warm black mix used on the steel yesterday, then highlight it by layering on some Coal  Black with a bit of Underbelly Blue mixed in.

img_2625

Here I’ve blended in some more black and blue to try to make the shoes look a little more like shiny leather.

img_2626

I’m not sure what the sash around her neck is called, but it would be carrying riceballs – her rations. It’s one of the little details on the Minimoto models that makes them so cool. I painted it with Ryn Flesh shaded with Bloodstone and, in the darkest areas, Umbral Umber.

img_2627

I’ve cleaned them up a little more here although it’s kinda hard to tell.

~Tomorrow I finish her up!

 

Leave a comment